Abdul Gani of Punjab wins Malhar dangal title


Wrestler Abdul Gani of Mallerkotla in Punjab clinched the 17th Annual Malhar Kesari Dangal title defeating Jagroop of Amritsar in the main bout that took place at village Malhar in tehsil and district Udhampur.


Dangal was organized by Malhar Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association under the overall supervision of President J&K Indian Style Association Shiv Kumar Sharma and Devinder Kumar (Pappu). In all, 65 bouts played among around 125 wrestlers from within and outside the state. An amount of Rs 2, 50,000 incurred on this day-long dangal. Minister for Finance and Information Technology, Pawan Gupta was chief guest on the occasion who distributed cash prizes among the winners and runners-up wrestlers. Treasurer Indian Style Wrestling Association of India, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided.

President District Udhampur Indian Style Wrestling Association, Varinder Badyal and senior BJP leader, Raj Kumar Buccha were guests of honour. Prominent among others present were Rehmat Ali, Balwan Singh, Pawan Kumar Sharma (all Sarpanch), Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri) and Mohd. Asraf. Earlier, winner of main bout, Gani was awarded with a cash prize of Rs 20,000 while runners-up, Jagroop got Rs 15,000. The Second main bout between Bhupinder of Ajnala and Amit of Guru Hanuman Akhara Delhi ended in a draw resulting into both these wrestlers shared Rs 21,000 cash prize. Third bout between Lallu of Bajrangi Akhara and Lalli of Garh Shanker in Punjab again ended in a draw.

Both these wrestlers were awarded with a joint cash prize of Rs 15,000. In fourth main bout, fought for 25 minutes between Ajay Sharma of Landen Power House Udhampur Gunga of Ludhiana remained undecided. Members and technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of this event included Devinder Kumar (DK), Sarpanch Subash Chander Sharma, Om Paul, Pawan Kumar Sharma, Beli Ram, Kassi Choudhary, Hamid Khan, Girdhari Lal, Yog Raj, Ravi Kumar, Benia Ahmed, Rattan Lal, Bushan Kumar, Govind Sharma, Naresh Kumar, Om Parkash Verma, Rajinder Kumar, Varinder Badyal, Mohd. Fareed, Captain Retired Dhiyan Singh, Raj Singh and Murli Dhar (Muna).

Others Result: Bittu of Delhi beat Palla of HP, Jatinder of Ludhiana beat Subba of Ajnala, Naiz Ali of Domana Akhara Jammu beat Rinku of Delhi, Yeshbir Fouji of Phagwara beat Rajan of Baranasi (UP), Javed of Meerut beat Rajesh of J&K Police of Jindrah, Laikat Ali of Panthal beat Raju of Delhi, Gopal Sharma of Jindarh beat Kapil Dev of HP, Salman of Chopra Shop Udhampur beat Sonu of Kathua, Subash of Chopra Shop beat Baboo of Jindrah and Sonu of Meerut beat Mustaq of Domana Akhara.

In the end, Devinder Kumar extended his thanks to the participating wrestlers other special guests and the huge gathering of locals.

rajni sharma

Rajni Sharma has over 5 years’ experience as a professional technical writer and technical author. His software publication audiences include system programmers, administrators, operators, and users. Mr. Johnson has also authored and maintained descriptive and user documents for computer