So close! Punjab lose IPL title to Kolkata


Earlier, KKR Skipper Gautam Gambhir won the toss and invited Kings XI to bat first. They scored 199 runs for the loss of four wickets. Wriddhiman Saha was the star of Kings XI innings as he scored 115 runs in just 55 balls.

Kings XI failed to get off to a good start and lost two wickets before six wickets after scoring just 30 runs. Veteran opener Virender Sehwag, who hit 122 against the Super Kings in Qualifier 2 on Friday, was dismissed for just 7 runs.SekonddVohhraa

Captain George Bailey promoted himself to first down but he failed to read Sunil Narine’s delivery and was castled for just one run.

After that, opener Manan Vohra (67) and Saha tried to consolidate the inning. The duo did not score freely initially but they kept the wickets intact. They opened up in 12th over as they started targeting Knight Riders’ bowlers.

Vohra and Saha added 129 runs for third-wicket before Vohra departed. Saha hit 10 fours and eight sixes in his 55-ball innings with an incredible strike rate of 209.09.

For Kolkata, Bangladeshi spinner Shakib Al Hasan was the pick of bowlers as he gave away just 26 runs in his four overs. Shakib, however, remained wicketless.

In reply, Kolkata lost their star opener Robin Uthappa in the first over. Uthappa returned to pavilion after scoring just four runs. Gambhir contributed 23 runs before he perished just after the end of power play.

After that, Pandey and Pathan added 71 runs for the third wicket. Pathan hit 33 runs in 22 balls. Shakib Al Hasan (12), Ryan ten Doeschate, Pandey and Suryakumar Yadav (5) got out in quick succession but Piyush Chawla kept his cool and played an important role in helping Kolkata win the trophy for the second time in three years.

Chawla hit a six off pacer Mitchell Johnson to bring down the required score to 5 runs from the last over. The left hander then hit a four to end the match with three balls remaining.

Brief scores: Kings XI Punjab 199/4 in 20 overs (Wriddhiman Saha 115 not out, Manan Vohra 67, Virender Sehwag 7; Piyush Chawla 2/44, Umesh Yadav 1/39, Sunil Narine 1/46) lost to Kolkata Knight Riders 200/7 in 19.3 overs (Manish Pandey 94, Yusuf Pathan 36, Gautam Gambhir 23; Karanveer Singh 4/54, Mitchell Johnson 2/41).