UGC releases list of 21 fake universities check these institution first seeking admission

New Delhi, July 2: All the students who wants to give spur to their career need to read this news. This could save their years of hard work in the hope to give new high to their professional career.

Amidst admission season, the University Grant Commission has released a list of fake universities. In an attempt to warn students to refrain from enrolling in these fake institutions the UGC has released a list of 21 such bogus varsities of which eight are in Uttar Pradesh and six in Delhi.

In a notification issued on Wednesday, the UGC has listed these fake universities – eight in UP, six in Delhi and one each in Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Bihar and West Bengal.

According to the University Grants Commission Act, 1956, only a university established by the Central/State/Provincial Act or an institution deemed to be university under Section 3 of the Act is allowed to call themselves as university.

Therefore, any institution that does not comply with the above rule is prohibited from using the term ‘university’ under Section 23 of the Act.

“Students and public at large are informed that such 21 self-styled and unrecognized institutions, functioning under the contravention of the UGC Act are declared as fake, and are not entitled to confer any degrees further,” the UGC said in its notice.

UGC, the apex body for higher education, periodically comes out with a list of fake universities for the benefit of students.

Names of fake universities


The six universities in Delhi which have been described as fake by the UGC include Varanseya Sanskrit Vishwavidyalaya, Commercial University Ltd, United Nations University, Vocational University, ADR-Central Juridical University and ADR-Central Juridical University.


Prayag Mahila Vidyapith(Allahabad), Gandhi Hindi Vidyapith(Allahabad), National university of Electro complex Homeopathy (Kanpur), Netaji Subash Chandra Bose open university(Aligarh), Uttar Pradesh university (Mathura), Maharana Pratap Shiksha Nikatan, (Pratapgarh), Indraprashtha education council (Koda, UP), Gurukul university(Vrindavan)


Maithli University, Dharbhanga


Badaganvi Sarkar World Open University


St.John’s University, Kishanattam


Raja Arabic University,Nagpur

Tamil Nadu

D D B Sanskrit ‘University’ in Putur, Tiruchi

West Bengal

Indian Institute of alternative medicine, Kolkata